What books should I read?

In a previous post, I had shared my monsoon list with you. One of the to-do items in my list was reading five authors whose works I have not read before.

Since I wrote that list, I bought three books off Amazon: The Old Man and the Sea, 1984, Pride and Prejudice. I have received a few others as gifts or in giveaways: No Comebacks by Fredrick Forsyth, Deadly Fanstasies by Kelly Miller and a non-fiction book called Ctrl+Alt+Del by fellow blogger, Jahnavi Chintakunta. Since I came home after graduating college, I have completed The Old Man and the Sea, Pride and Prejudice and Deadly Fantasies.

English, as many of you may know, is not my first language. I haven’t read many of the books that English or American kids study in school. Until last month I had not read Pride and Prejudice. In a way, I feel ashamed of my poor reading pool. But I am determined to remedy this. Since I aspire to be a writer some day, I guess I should get my classics right first. For that Write me           aGuest Postreason, this month in Saturday Specials, I started a guest post column titled Re-living the Classics. In Re-living the Classics I ask you, my dear reader, to share your review of your favourite classic on my blog. There are still two spots left for the next two Saturdays, so, if you’d like to guest post on my blog, please contact me through the contact form given at the end of this post.

Meanwhile, do not forget to share your list of must-read classics in the comments section. Which book should I read in order to heal my classic deficiency? Would it be wise to read all the books of one author, or should I read a few of many? Should I go by a time period or by genre? Any suggestions are welcome!

Now onto other things: As you know, on Scribbles@Arpita, I share posts related to reading and writing. I love to think of it as my author platform. But since I came home earlier this month, I have been feeling the urge to share something more personal. I am going through a tumultuous period of life: in three months I am going to start my new job (in an analytics company) in a city more than a thousand miles away from my hometown, my little brother brother is about to leave home and start college in a few weeks and I am torn between whether to keep my dreams of pursuing a career in electronics alive or go for analytics. To deal with all that confusion, I started my other blog, Before Leaving Again. The blog will document my journey until October as I come to grips with the big changes about to happen in my life. I’d love you to be a part of my journey and help me form my decisions, so don’t forget to follow me on Before Leaving Again.


If you wish to be a part of Saturday Specials in July, don’t forget to leave your name, email and the name of the book you wish to review through the following contact form. I am so eager to hear from you!

About Arpita

Arpita Pramanick is a little, young woman with a bright face (who'd rather not look directly into a stranger's eye) you'll find walking on the corridors of Mu Sigma, Inc. She tells herself she wants to be a properly published writer (by which she means she wants to be published from the likes of Penguin), but isn't really so sincere about writing everyday. So if you see her, tell her to go write. She'll love you for doing that!
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to What books should I read?

  1. tlclark says:

    pride and prejudice is the only ‘classic’ on my list, and I am born and breed English speaking 😛 so don’t feel bad… though I didn’t start reading for pleasure until well into my teen years, because of dyslexia… but for must reads to get a feel for your own writing future, I would suggest that you try a little of each, until you find what you love… some like to read and write in the same genre, but others ??? I am all about fantasy/paranormal romance (unless there is a cowboy available/like Lorelei James’s Rough Riders) I range from the super smutty to the only good lovin is behind closed doors… lol… if you find that you like this genre area, try Laurell K Hamilton (Lately I like the Merry Gentry more than her Anita Blake), Lora Leigh – lots of sex, and she makes you cry, Lynsay Sands – different from the first two, sex with some humor, Shelly Laurenston/G.A. Aiken (same person) – lots of sex and hilarious, and Christine Feehan – sexy lovin and soul mates, lots of battling evil … for the middle ground to behind closed doors I would suggest … Karen Chance – I just love her, and her MC Pritkin, Eileen Wilks – shut the door first, and Patricia Briggs – even if you prefer hot lovin (which she doesn’t have, she is a must read in my opinion) … if you still need more, feel free to check my last post ‘top picks from fellow readers’ … I did a poll and asked others to share their author love … happy wordage, now … I have been too wordy, so I will run, Tracey

    Liked by 1 person

    • Arpita says:

      Hey Tracy! Thank you so much for dropping by and sharing your insights. I haven’t heard about most of the readers on your list, but I will definitely try and check out a few of them.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. AstridOxford says:

    As a native English speaker I should be ashamed to say this, but I haven’t read many classics either! Only recently I started giving them a go but time is against my efforts. I started 1984 by George Orwell as I have heard a lot about it and usually enjoy the dystopian society themes more than anything else. I was also reading a copy of a collection of short stories by Edgar Allan Poe, maybe you should consider reading his work.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Arpita says:

      Hey! I just started 1984 too! Maybe we should compare notes sometime? 😀 I have read some of Poe’s works, but horror isn’t my thing!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Arpita says:

      Hey,

      I was wondering, how did you find 1984? Are you finished with the book yet? I was totally uncertain about what to think of it -dystopia is really not my thing. You can read my small review of the book on GoodReads: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1339965878

      I am eager to hear your views! Lemme know.

      Like

      • AstridOxford says:

        Hi Arpita! I haven’t quite gotten to the end of the book yet. There’s so much else taking up my time! I started trying to read the “great classics of literature” so-to-speak and have always heard so much of Orwell’s 1984. At high school, Animal Farm was a part of the Lit curriculum and in the end I enjoyed its premise, I thought 1984 was obviously a good place to start. I will definitely check out your review! Thanks for the follow up!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Arpita says:

        Do let me know your thoughts after you are done!

        Like

  3. AstridOxford says:

    I found Poe’s work really enjoyable but then I lost my copy of the text. This is why I prefer reading soft copies! & sure why not? I’ve never compared notes before … This could be fun! How about a few guidelines?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Leanne says:

    Don’t fret about not reading “Pride and Prejudice” because this generation doesn’t care for classics anymore…maybe when they’re older they will. I like Laurie Halse Anderson’s “Chains” (if you like it, she has “Forge” already published) and “Fever 1793” but I don’t think her books are considered classics. If you have time and are interested, you can hop over to my blog where I post my novel for free. I’ve been told the first book (https://ellesadventureinchina.wordpress.com/chapter-1-infamous/) is slow but the second (https://ellesadventureinchina.wordpress.com/2015/05/30/chapter-1-repair-12/) moves much faster. Here’s a cheat-sheet/summary of the first one (https://ellesadventureinchina.wordpress.com/2015/05/25/icymi-book-1/) if you decide to pass and move on to the second one. It would be nice to get a review from someone who isn’t related to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Arpita says:

      Hi Leanne! Thank you for dropping by. I will definitely check out your novels. The thing is I am really looking for fellow writers. Actually, I plan to write a novel sometime, but I don’t know how to get started. And with other things going on in life, I really end up losing inspiration.

      Like

      • Leanne says:

        If engineering/analytics weren’t what you really wanted, then you should have plenty of inspiration. When I was still writing EACh, I couldn’t sleep if I didn’t write and I thought about it all the time. Don’t get me wrong, nothing is wrong with you if you don’t experience the same thing, but if analytics are killing your inspiration, you should wait until you feel the way I did. I just super duper love this singer, songwriter, composer, actor extraordinaire so much that I wrote this novel as my fantasy with a lot of my personality as the main female character (educated American girl) while distorting the main male character (super duper man who recently became a dad). But this was in my head while I was still in school but never had the time to write it nor did I take writing seriously. You could see the difference in writing style and word choice in both books and see how I evolved from a paper writer to a writer for fun. Don’t share this online because I try to hide myself online. You can read why on the About page and on the first Blogging 101 assignment on why I blog.

        All the best 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Arpita says:

        Well I graduated engineering and I do love it! Writing is another passions which lurks inside me all the time. However, at the present moment I am a bit busy with family and my intended move to my workplace in a few months. My mind just needs to sediment down a bit in order for me to be able to put out something more productive.

        Like

      • Leanne says:

        Time it is!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Arpita says:

        Meanwhile, I checked out your About page. It is very informative. I look forward to reading your novel as soon as I can find the time. But please allow me to offer one suggestion: The picture of the flower on the left of your blog offers poor contrast to the links that are listed there and make it difficult to find them out. Maybe you can choose a different image for it, something which makes it easier to see the links?

        Like

      • Leanne says:

        Which flower? I think I can see everything over the flower.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Arpita says:

        Oh! I did not notice that the flowers changed. When I was on the page there was a violet flower.

        Like

      • Leanne says:

        Did it look like a rounded triangle or a Citgo symbol?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Arpita says:

        Maybe Citgo!

        Like

      • Leanne says:

        Thanks! Taking it out!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Arpita says:

        You are welcome! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

