Day 6 of Writing 101: Where do you write?

My first tryst with regular writing was writing in my diary. My cousin got me addicted into it, saying some day when I grew up I would look at those daily entries and laugh at who I had been years ago. The prospect excited me and I followed his suggestion religiously.

I wrote and wrote and wrote in my diary, taking note of every simple incident that happened in school or at home. If I went somewhere and could not take my diary, I would feel so bad about not being able to document that day. Eventually, I had to devise code-words to shield my diary-entries from my mother’s prying eyes – apparently, little kids aren’t supposed to have any secrets from parents!

My father used to get diaries as gifts on New Year’s Eve, and each year I eagerly waited for a diary of my liking to appear. I had no interest in the big, broad ones. My diaries were mostly the size of a paperback.

Even after I moved to college, I wrote in the diary. I had graduated to writing melancholy poetry by that time, besides writing what my new friends and roommates were like in the Β diary. It was a different sort of peace to hold a pen in my hand and fill up the words. I felt at home writing about my days, in spite of how I was feeling.

In the second year of college, I bought my laptop. It was a whole new experience. Gradually, I saw the difficulty of storing too many diaries in my tiny room. Word documents were cleaner, you didn’t have to scratch through words you didn’t mean or want, and you could password protect them. Ever since I joined online communities for writing – I had another blog as early as in 2011 – I have written major stuff on my laptop – novel drafts, short stories or even some drafts for my blog-posts and all of them are in this folder named Writing Closet which lives on my desktop screen.

I also take notes in my phone, in an app called Evernote. But I am not so comfortable with the 5 inch screen. I prefer writing longhand to clumsily touch-typing on the QWERTY keypad of my phone.

At the moment, I am writing sitting at the table on which my desktop computer is placed (the laptop is with the brother for now). This table is my solitary corner and I feel like I am writing into a typewriter as I press the keys on the keyboard. Laptop keypads are hardly as comfortable as this one! This is so much more tangible.

I still scribble in my diary, from time to time, when I feel like holding a pen. And the craving comes without warning. I guess I will never have enough of filling up white pages with my handwriting.

I have read about writers heading to coffee shops or other such places to write. I have never done that in my life. Maybe, eventually, I will find a place for me!


 

What about you? Where are you most comfortable writing? Let me know in the comments section.


 

This is my 78th blog-post on Scribbles@Arpita. I have received regular feedback from you all ever since I started blogging. Though the response was low initially but it has picked up with time and I do thank you from the bottom of my heart for spending time on my blog. Please take a moment to take this poll. It will help me decide on future topics. For reference, you may browse through some of the posts on this blog before you vote!Β 

About Arpita

Arpita Pramanick is a little, young woman with a bright face (who'd rather not look directly into a stranger's eye) you'll find walking on the corridors of Mu Sigma, Inc. She tells herself she wants to be a properly published writer (by which she means she wants to be published from the likes of Penguin), but isn't really so sincere about writing everyday. So if you see her, tell her to go write. She'll love you for doing that!
This entry was posted in Writing101 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Day 6 of Writing 101: Where do you write?

  1. rosemawrites says:

    Hi there Appy! I have tried Evernote, too but now I am now using Google docs. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Marquessa says:

    I enjoy all your writing but i did the poll. How often do you back up your work?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Annie says:

    Done the poll! I identify with your writing journey. And I’m loving Evernote too. I’d type key words and phrases in Evernote on the go, and when I get to my MacBook I’d complete and fine-tune the story. I like that it syncs across my devices.

    Doing the assignment now πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Arpita says:

      Yes. Evernote seems to be quite the popular one! πŸ™‚ Thank you for voting.

      Today’s post was kind of a continuation of the comment I made on your blog yesterday πŸ™‚ I’ll visit your post soon!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. AdiC says:

    We have very similar writing habits. I prefer the pen over the keyboard but often typing out the drafts is a pain so I stick to the laptop these days. On days when I feel very lazy I use the Evernote speech to text feature on phones. It helps.
    I’ve never been to coffee shops specifically for writing. If I am in a creative burst I can even writing in a rumbling bus. Otherwise my room suits me. Preferably by the window.
    And Marquessa’s comment was an eye-opener. I should back up my written stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Arpita says:

      I loved the Evernote Text to Speech but I don’t know what happened, I don’t find it anymore on the version I have now 😦 Your writing in a bus reminds of of this one time when I was jotting down some features of a co-passenger (a beautiful young woman) to use in a future piece. Her lower mouth reminded me of someone I knew some years ago. I haven’t gotten around to use the description yet, but it’s still on my Evernote πŸ˜€

      Like

  5. Anand says:

    If they were checkboxes, I’d have checked 1, 2, and 3. Girls have a love for diaries – haven’t they? And then those diaries must not be read by anyone else. There are things I fail to understand.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Arpita says:

      Haha, reminds you of the ‘wifey’, I suppose? Yes, I absolutely LOVE my diaries. Because it saw me through tides of time, it opened itself for me to write on when I didn’t think there was anyone to listen or understand. Those who make friends with diaries make this for a reason, because there they write stuff which can not probably be unburdened anywhere else – and that’s where they are supposed to be, all their written life.

      Does this make things clearer for you? πŸ˜›

      Like

  6. Srinath TK says:

    Interesting Arpita…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

