Day 18 of Writing 101: The Package

The Package

Arpita Pramanick

It says it is in Bhiwandi, Maharashtra, India. I do not know if Bhiwandi is a city or a town. I wonder, though, what it looks like.

I am zooming in. The satellite picture shows green and brown, but nothing is clear. So much for technology!

A notification beeps in my cellphone. The package has moved. Now, the painful wait begins.

Three days later, criss-crossing the country, changing hands, it rings as the doorbell.

The man is dark. He is wearing dark blue coveralls and a blue-and-red cap.

“Two hundred and seventy nine rupees, ma’am,” he says.

I hand him the money, counted to the exact rupee. I know these people well. They never return the one-rupee change.

The man hands me the package. I caress it like a long lost kin.

“Thank you for shopping with us, ma’am.” The man bares his malformed teeth. Ugh!

“Yeah, okay, okay!” I shut the door on his face. I can’t wait one more second to tear the cover and hold the treasure in my own hands.

No longer I care what they say about my craft.Β If no one else buys my book, I will!

I know what I should do. I’ll just order another hundred copies!

CopyrightΒ Β© 2015 Arpita Pramanick

About Arpita

Arpita Pramanick is a little, young woman with a bright face (who'd rather not look directly into a stranger's eye) you'll find walking on the corridors of Mu Sigma, Inc. She tells herself she wants to be a properly published writer (by which she means she wants to be published from the likes of Penguin), but isn't really so sincere about writing everyday. So if you see her, tell her to go write. She'll love you for doing that!
This entry was posted in Short Stories, Writing101 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Day 18 of Writing 101: The Package

  1. Riju says:

    Is Writing101 a list of prompts for blog posts?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sarthak0501 says:

    I love your dedication. I am sure you will achieve what you want. (Y)

    Liked by 2 people

  3. rosemawrites says:

    HAHA! This made me laugh, Appy! I like the spirit of your character. πŸ˜€

    BTW, I am almost done with your book! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Where can we buy your book and what is it about? πŸ™‚ I enjoyed the post, I was hanging to every word! Haha

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Writing 101 : Stream of consciousness | Scintilla

  6. sukanyasaha says:

    Ha ha ha… This post is sooo interesting πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    It intrigued me till the end what was inside the package (especially when we buy something online you see πŸ™‚ πŸ˜› )
    The end is superb ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

  7. anankhan98 says:

    Haha! I’m probably gonna do that when I’m published. And start distributing! Lol. Good one, Arpita.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Annie says:

    Oooh I was wondering what it was that the person was buying! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. mterrazas32 says:

    Haha! I smile reading this Arpita. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

