An Interview with Myself

Tonight, I get on the train that will take me across states to the city where I start my work life. Before I leave, here’s a little QnA with myself for you all. Given the myriad emotions I am feeling right now, I think this is the best way for me to write about my feelings without being sad and nostalgic. Hope you enjoy it!

QnA with Arpita Pramanick

(Blogger at Scribbles@Arpita)

So, almost four months after college ended, the day to leave home has finally come. How are you feeling right now?

Excited. Nervous. Adventurous. Afraid! There is no single emotion that can describe the state of mind I have right now. After college when I was looking at around sixteen weeks of vacation before I started working, I wondered what would I do with all that time. Now, I can’t recall how Time flew away. I am definitely going to miss home, my book-shelf which I rearranged recently, the computer table where I spent most part of the day writing, and the sights and smells of my house in general. And last but not the least, my parents and my brother.

Is anyone accompanying you?

Yeah, thankfully, my parents are able to come with me, though, for a really brief period, but I am glad they’ll be with me when I set foot in my destination.

What is the one thing that you’re excited about?

Can I name two? First, being financially independent and being able to help my family. Second, getting to visit a new place! I have wanted to travel all my life! Believe it or not, this will be my first inter-state travel.

And what’s making you nervous?

Oh, a lot of things! Like whether I’ll have a safe journey or not, whether my parents would get back home safely after dropping me there or not, how my mother will deal with my absence, whether my job life would be nice or not. So many things that I can go on and on and on forever! But I promised myself to corner the negative emotions, so I will shut up now. LOL.

Are you carrying anything special to remind you of home?

Yes, a photograph with my family which was recently taken. Every time I see it I remember the time we spent in the studio, bickering about the best way to pose for the camera, like who should stand and who should sit at which angle, whether we should smile with our teeth showing or not and silly stuff like that. I love the way the picture has come out though. Everyone is smiling with their teeth closed, in case you’re wondering.

Any books to read on the trip?

Oh, yeah! The Palace of Illusions by Chitra Divakaruni. It is Mahabharata told from Draupadi’s point of view. Having grown up listening to tales of Mahabharata, I am eager to find out what the epic would have been like, had it been told from a woman’s perspective. The cover looks very interesting!

Have you read The Palace of Illusions? Feel free to share your thoughts on the book with me in the Comments section.

When are we going to see you again on Scribbles@Arpita?

Well, as soon as I settle down and have proper internet connection! Depending of those factors, it could be a week or a month until I am back. But back I will be, you can count on that, I promise.

Of course, you’ll write about your journey on the blog when you’re back, we hope?

Of course, I will. In fact, I want to take this time out to review my blogging goals and come back with some fresh updates. When I am back, you might see posts on themes which you’ve never seen before on Scribbles@Arpita. I am looking forward to that!

Any words for our bloggers/readers?

Well, keep blogging and keep reading, of course. And, do miss me and pray for my safe travel. I will miss you all. Love and Cheers!

Thank you, Arpita! Have a safe journey and all the best for your new life.

Thank you so much for letting me spill my heart. I totally enjoyed this!


About Arpita

Arpita Pramanick is a little, young woman with a bright face (who'd rather not look directly into a stranger's eye) you'll find walking on the corridors of Mu Sigma, Inc. She tells herself she wants to be a properly published writer (by which she means she wants to be published from the likes of Penguin), but isn't really so sincere about writing everyday. So if you see her, tell her to go write. She'll love you for doing that!
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to An Interview with Myself

  1. Annie says:

    I enjoyed this conversation! I can see the mixed feelings you currently have. All the best in your journey and new adventure. It’s all going to be great!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. vellissima says:

    Good luck on your great adventure!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mayur says:

    All the best ….and enjoy self….dont nerves…..god is grear

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Best of luck and have a safe journey 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. prayers and best wishes for the journey. Journeys are amazing! especially with the railways…u’ll meet a whole lot of interesting fellow-Indians.
    Don’t sweat, all will be great, a little adjusting initially…and u’ll be all set in your new place in 2-3 weeks!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Arpita says:

    Hey! All the best with this new phase of your life! You wil do great, just believe in yourself! Palace of Illusions is a pretty good book. Let me know how you like Draupadi’s character after you are done with the Book. have you read Karna’s wife by Kavita Kane?

    Like

  7. anankhan98 says:

    You’ll get used to it eventually. And when you do, you’ll be back to being your old self! Stay blessed, Arpita! God will be with you!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. trablogger says:

    Good luck on your new journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Of ends and beginnings | Scribbles@Arpita

  10. nimi naren says:

    Good luck dear Arpita.
    Palace of Illusions is brilliant. Must read!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

