Of Changed Priorities, Books and Book Reviews

When I was back at home, enjoying the longest holidays, I was pretty sure that no matter how busy I were, I’ll always find time to write. Little did I know how Time can wash you away like a wave and you’re no more than a small twig bobbing up and down those waves.

I did write a few posts since coming here, but as more and more time passes, Work+Life seem to suck me in. Suddenly, there are more important things to do other than writing.

However, I am about to shift to a (more) permanent accommodation in one or two days. Hopefully, once I am completely settled in and fallen into a regular pattern, I will find time to write regularly. The one good thing to this is that I will have a lot of material to write about.

Even though I am not being able to write as much as I would like to, I am still connected to writing in other ways. Today, I wrote a review on Amazon for Chrissy Lessey’s The Hunted, the second book in the Crystal Coast series. The Hunted released on October 15th on Kindle. I had received the Advanced Reader Copy from the author. I loved the plot and the characters but what I love most about authors of fantasy genre is their amazing capability to create believable fictional worlds. Also, this was the first time I read about autism in a story. Tthe sharp images that Chrissy created in this book with a five-year old autistic child will stay with me for a long time. There were few lazy adjectives and some over-used words, but the story was engaging from beginning to end. If fantasy is your thing, do give this author a try.

I am about 50 pages through The God of Small Things. It is unlike any book I have read so far. The very first chapter threw me into the private life of a family, without giving much background info. It was distracting at first. But I am getting used to the author’s voice now. The best thing about the Roy’s writing style is the unusual adjectives. They are so fresh, new and never-heard-before.

What about you? What book are you reading right now? Share with me in the Comments.

About Arpita

Arpita Pramanick is a little, young woman with a bright face (who'd rather not look directly into a stranger's eye) you'll find walking on the corridors of Mu Sigma, Inc. She tells herself she wants to be a properly published writer (by which she means she wants to be published from the likes of Penguin), but isn't really so sincere about writing everyday. So if you see her, tell her to go write. She'll love you for doing that!
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Of Changed Priorities, Books and Book Reviews

  1. Vibrant says:

    I have heard about “The God Of Small Things.”

    I am not reading any books. I hate reading books LOL 😀

    I hope you get settled to the best of your satisfaction. Have a great weekend.

    Love and light ❤

    Anand 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. krupajnanda says:

    So far busy schedule is going on cause of Festival and Diwali house cleaning stuffs! So hardly get the time to write even a post too! And for reading, when I try read one or two paragraphs and suddenly I found myself to feeling asleep! 😉 But anyways, once everything is done, m gonna be back. 🙂

    Hope you get settled Asap. So that we can enjoy your each post. 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  3. sarthak0501 says:

    I love your passion for writing and it makes me lil bit disappointed when I do not see your post. I am sure you will learn to get time for writing from the busy schedule 🙂 . I think one way, if possible, could be to write in lil pieces during the work hours and then compiling it. 😀 :p

    Currently I am reading Quran but I think I won’t be able to complete it.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Anand says:

    Sarthak0501’s suggestion is an excellent one – but if you’ve just joined a new place of work, it can be difficult to implement. I do derive a sort of evil satisfaction when I see others riding the same riddled-boat of time. Welcome to the Stressed-for-time-land.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. belinda o says:

    I hope you’re doing well adjusting to all these changes in your life, including the loss of your grandfather. Take care of yourself! What a wild ride you’re on right now!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

