Of conscious dreaming

Have you ever had a dream which was so bad you wanted to change it?

Last night I dreamt of death of a close relative. And it led to a avalanche of emotions. First, I wasn’t ready to believe that it had happened (all the time knowing in a way that it was true). I felt like I was in a bad movie, where everything was going to become magically right in the end.

I tried and tried, inside my subconscious, to change, if I may say so, the script of the dream. I tried to find one loophole or the other, some shortcoming that would tell me that it was a joke. But dreams have this amazing clarity about them which make them feel like they are really real. If I was asked to describe a mirage, I would say it was a dream.

In the end, it turned out like a cheap fantasy story, where I found an old magic script, chanting which would bring the dead to life. I chanted it, again and again, indeed bringing the dead to life.

For a long time, I have tried to make a note of my dreams in a dream journal. Most of the time, I am not able to reproduce it perfectly. What I wonder is, though, is it possible for us to change the course of a dream by conscious channelization of our will-power?

“When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.” – Paulo Coelho

I wonder if that’s the same for dreams as well. What do you think? Share with me in the Comments.

About Arpita

Arpita Pramanick is a little, young woman with a bright face (who'd rather not look directly into a stranger's eye) you'll find walking on the corridors of Mu Sigma, Inc. She tells herself she wants to be a properly published writer (by which she means she wants to be published from the likes of Penguin), but isn't really so sincere about writing everyday. So if you see her, tell her to go write. She'll love you for doing that!
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Of conscious dreaming

  1. I think it is possible to change a dream since I feel like I’ve done it a few times. Usually when something scary is about to happen, it’s as if my actual consciousness enters the dream and tries to force the dream to change. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. I’ll never forget the time I dreamt I was about to fall from a helicopter in the sky and every part of my being tried to change it, and it did. I was no longer in a helicopter but the whole scene changed. Was crazy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. susurrus says:

    Dreams are really interesting. I can’t remember consciously changing the course of a dream, but I can remember reassuring myself in a dream that I know what happens because I’ve had that dream before.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. anankhan98 says:

    Sometimes I have the same dream so many times that I become indifferent to it. And sometimes I have dreams that have so many parallels with real life that I’m left gasping for breath.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. belinda o says:

    Sometimes I’ve had the same dream multiple times and eventually I figure out what’s wrong — it’s as if there’s some problem I need to solve before the dream will stop. In the last one, I repeatedly was failing in college. Over and over and over. Finally, I said, why I am putting myself through this, I already have a degree! I haven’t had that dream since. I have no idea what it may have represented in real life, but something was going on.

    In other dreams I’ve been on the edge of a cliff and I’ve been able to visualize the space around me becoming safe somehow. I stopped having those dreams, too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

