NaNoWrimo 2015: Final Update

Hiya everyone!

It’s been long since I posted about NaNoWriMo. The absence might have said something about my status update. No prizes for guessing that I am behind.Yes! As the hands of the clock tick to the final hour, my word count stands at 26,283.

However, I shall not complain. This NaNoWriMo has been a great learning step for me. Until this November, I had never been been past ten thousand words. I am sure the twenty six thousand odd words that I have on the WIP will not all be usable, but at least I have a structure on which I can work later.

Besides the head-start, NaNoWriMo also taught me the value of planning beforehand. I started this WriMo almost on a whim, with no plot, no character sketch to go on. Of course, one month is long enough to come up with a plot, but it isn’t enough when you’re new to a full time day job and training for it. Given the circumstances that I am in, prior planning would have gone a long way in executing the novel.

Irrespective of the outcome, I am happy I took this challenge. I haven’t been able to write everyday as I hoped I would, but now I have a half-draft with me which will give me a  reason to go back to it at a later stage. I also realized that I need to read a lot more to develop a style of my own, because even though I have big thoughts in mind, putting them on paper is not so easy.

Good thing is, now that WriMo will be over, I can get back to the small writing tasks that I had been putting off for a long time – making random character sketches, etc.

What about you? Did you take part in WriMo this year? How has your experience been like? Share your experience of NaNo in detail in a guest post on Scribbles@Arpita (irrespective of whether you completed 50k words or not). To share your experience, reach out to me using the contact form below. I’ll be waiting for your responses!

About Arpita

Arpita Pramanick is a little, young woman with a bright face (who'd rather not look directly into a stranger's eye) you'll find walking on the corridors of Mu Sigma, Inc. She tells herself she wants to be a properly published writer (by which she means she wants to be published from the likes of Penguin), but isn't really so sincere about writing everyday. So if you see her, tell her to go write. She'll love you for doing that!
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to NaNoWrimo 2015: Final Update

  1. anankhan98 says:

    Congrats on the headstart, Arpi!
    Speaking of planning, I’ve been planning my best novel for over three years now. The steps are small, but it’s there nonetheless. Even pantsers need to plan at times. :p

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ghotibaatea says:

    That is what NaNoWriMo is all about, isn’t it? Delivering a swift kick to the backburner so that whatever you are left with on Dec 1 is Pirate Latitudes…I mean, a good foundation. And I shall revel in my ability to summarise the entire post in a few inane lines. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

