Book ponzi?!

In December ’15 I had posted an article about book-gifting during Christmas. Usually, I don’t participate in such things. But since it was Christmas and I had to give away a book as a gift, I participated happily. Of course, I also expected that I’d get at least one book in return, but given the circumstances, I wasn’t too hopeful about that.

Christmas is gone, so is the New Year Eve. I have not received any book so far, and I don’t believe I will. But that is not the point of this post.

Today, my roommate shared with me this Times of India article on the book-gifting scheme being fraud. I’m not sure if I’d call it a fraud, because even when I signed up for it I knew that I wasn’t signing up for something absolute and I might not get any book at all. Yet, I participated because this was the first Christmas since I started working, and I really did want to give away a book.

What intimidates me is that the TOI article is calling this scheme illegal – I hardly had a clue that it was so. What do you think?

About Arpita

Arpita Pramanick is a little, young woman with a bright face (who'd rather not look directly into a stranger's eye) you'll find walking on the corridors of Mu Sigma, Inc. She tells herself she wants to be a properly published writer (by which she means she wants to be published from the likes of Penguin), but isn't really so sincere about writing everyday. So if you see her, tell her to go write. She'll love you for doing that!
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Book ponzi?!

  1. Anand says:

    Sorry about that. Let us hope that the book you sent was actually given to someone who loves books and not sold away.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Marquessa says:

    Not sure about the ponzi part of it but at least you were sincere in your actions!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. May its a fraud or may be you still receive a book .The best part is this scheme made you give away a book reader will enjoy a good book gifted by you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ghotibaatea says:

    Hey, even one book is awesome. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Swagata says:

    Gifting a book can never be illegal. I too read that article.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

