Of Potato Sandwiches, old movies and new books…

Have you ever strained yourself to stay up late into the Friday night becoming Saturday, just because you wanted to feel the plenitude of the weekend hours, knowing that Monday is still far away? I like Saturdays better than Sundays, and Fridays better still than Saturdays.

breakfast-tiffanys-party4

So, I was curled up last night, inside my mink blanket, first watching Breakfast at Tiffany’s on the laptop and then reading pages of Gone Girl. I wonder why the movie is called Breakfast at Tiffany’s, because as far as my sleepy memory from last night serves, there wasn’t really a breakfast scene at Tiffany’s in the movie, or was there? I am not sure. And I don’t want to sound like the dumb one here, but I got to say: I didn’t like the movie as much as I thought I would. To put it in terms of one of the movie’s dialogue, it was amusingly and superficially good, yes. Deeply and importantly, no.

Anyways, after I was done with dinner last night (which was four bread slices with some butter and banana – too breakfasty, eh?!), I was reading Gone Girl. I have watched the movie before, yes. And to answer the question, ‘What’s the point?’ – well, I had wanted to read the book before I watched the movie, but that didn’t happen, but it’s okay to want to fulfill a desire, right? Right.

This morning, a dewy, slow Saturday morning, I woke up and made myself some potato sandwiches. I never quite liked potatoes, if you ask me. I think potato is the most over-used vegetable in hostels and paying guest accommodations in Bengal (and outside?), and when you eat something day in and day out – three times a day, it’s natural that you’d learn to hate it.

But when you are on your own, cooking for yourself and have to think hard to figure what vegetable to eat your roti with (especially when you eat only limited type of vegetables), you realize the potato is your friend.

So I chopped neat little cubes of onions, and fried them in oil and added the boiled, mashed potatoes to it and and pinch of salt and garam masala, and staved the mixture between bread slices (bread, bread, bread – the easiest way-out when you’re feeling too lazy to make rotis). I took a bite, and was it delicious! I should make myself more of these – except, I hate repetition!

And after breakfast, it’s Gone Girl again.

What about you? How’s the lazy Saturday turning out for you?

 

About Arpita

Arpita Pramanick is a little, young woman with a bright face (who'd rather not look directly into a stranger's eye) you'll find walking on the corridors of Mu Sigma, Inc. She tells herself she wants to be a properly published writer (by which she means she wants to be published from the likes of Penguin), but isn't really so sincere about writing everyday. So if you see her, tell her to go write. She'll love you for doing that!
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Of Potato Sandwiches, old movies and new books…

  1. Juni Desireé says:

    I agree, Friday night is the the best knowing the weekend is ahead. And your weekend sounds great. Good books, movies and food = heaven. I read a bit, watched the tennis, and made three necklaces, so it was pretty good.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How can you have bread in dinner and again in breakfast the very next morning? Don’t be lazy cook something healthy for yourself, at-least on weekends when you have time try something new.

    Like

  3. Ghotibaatea says:

    “Have you ever strained yourself to stay up late into the Friday night becoming Saturday, just because you wanted to feel the plenitude of the weekend hours, knowing that Monday is still far away? I like Saturdays better than Sundays, and Fridays better still than Saturdays.”

    Every. Single. Weekend.

    Weekends are like mayflys, though when they arrive, they feel like a modern Methuselah, a Moses parting the Red Sea between us and the bloodthirsty hordes of Pharaoh Monday the Mighty. When they leave, snuffed out like the tenuous dewdrop they are, they leave a feeling of emptiness, of yearning; a craving for the next helping, a shot to drown out its own hangover. Weekends are refreshing. Weekends are jaded. Weekends are inevitable.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. AstridOxford says:

    I usually try to read books before watching the film adaptation also because reading it after, for me, is painful – my imagination doesn’t get to run wild since now the actors take centre stage and I recall what I have already seen in the movie! (which is what exactly happened when I tried to read Gone Girl after seeing the film.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Arpita says:

      Haha, I know. But I have a pretty weak memory, and though I remembered the general idea of the book as shown in the film, I had forgotten the details. So I thought why not read it again!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

