J for Japanese

About a week after I borrowed In Other Words from Kwench, I received an email in my office inbox. They are going to teach Japanese to people who are interested.

having read In Other Words, I know learning a language is not going to be easy. And I’m really not comfortable with the way Japanese and Chinese alphabets (if at all they are alphabets) look. They look like hieroglyphics to me!

But anyways, two other guys in my team signed up for the course, and I realized I didn’t want to miss out on the experience.

I already know a few words in Japanese: Arigatou, which is Thank You. Classes start from Tuesday. I am so excited about the new challenge!

About Arpita

Arpita Pramanick is a little, young woman with a bright face (who'd rather not look directly into a stranger's eye) you'll find walking on the corridors of Mu Sigma, Inc. She tells herself she wants to be a properly published writer (by which she means she wants to be published from the likes of Penguin), but isn't really so sincere about writing everyday. So if you see her, tell her to go write. She'll love you for doing that!
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to J for Japanese

  1. anankhan98 says:

    Japanese is uses over 3000 Chinese characters (which are individual words, if you want to know) plus two forms of Japanese alphabets, Hiragana and Katakana. Some of the Chinese characters are easy to understand, but if you’re learning Japanese you can write using just hiragana/katakana.
    Heavens. I really should learn Japanese fully.
    Shinpainai yo. Kimi wa daijoubu!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Annie says:

    Japanese language has always fascinated me. I *almost* took a class couple years ago. (Yes, almost, it’s the thought that counts, right?) I’m so happy you decided to take it up. Looking forward to reading about your experience in the class 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. All the best for learning Japanese.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Trudy says:

    Good luck on the class!I would just like to speak reading is just too daunting for me.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Pingback: J for Japanese – 2 | Scribbles@Arpita

Leave a Reply

