Rotis and tortillas

It’s been a week that I joined a new team at work. The project I was working on since joining the company closed last to last week. Last weekend, I was slightly apprehensive of how the week would turn out to be.

As it was, I returned home late (past 10 pm) all the five days. I reach office at between 8.30 – 9.30 AM, so I have been spending close to 12-13 hours at work every day. It’s not new for a lot of people in the company, but when I was in the old project, we did some good hours (close to 9-10 hours) . I had predicted the change in hours beforehand, as the current project is a pilot.

This is also my first time experience working with an onsite. One day, during the call our onsite, an American woman, told us she had burritos. i wasn’t aware what it was, so I googled. From the look of it, I felt that it is similar to the Indian rolls. The base of an Indian roll is a roti or a chappati, which is quite similar in shape to the tortilla used in Tex-Mex burritos.

I am planning to make egg rolls tomorrow for lunch. It feels nice to cook yourself something nice once in a while. I made pasta today. For dinner I am thinking some rice and cauliflower, let’s see.

Jpeg

Pasta and cheese

It is gratifying how much you could learn in a year. When I came to Bangalore for the first time, I knew how to make a few things, but that was it. Now, I am a pretty reliable cook. Last to last weekend I had a teammate over and made parathas.

Yesterday we had team outing at Smaash. I had my first try at bowling. I suck at it. I tried almost 10 times and couldn’t hit a single pin! I kinda lost interest in it after that. I liked Vertigo though, I enjoyed the experience feeling like I was walking on a narrow plank miles above the ground level. It is amazing how Virtual Reality can trick your brain. The food was decent, but I have noticed that I very rarely like outside food that I eat here in Bangalore. I have had the chance of eating out in Kolkata, and it used to be so good that I kept wanting more. I don’t feel the same about Bnagalore. Then again, I have hardly eaten out much.

How has your weekend been going so far? Share with me in the Comments!

About Arpita

Arpita Pramanick is a little, young woman with a bright face (who'd rather not look directly into a stranger's eye) you'll find walking on the corridors of Mu Sigma, Inc. She tells herself she wants to be a properly published writer (by which she means she wants to be published from the likes of Penguin), but isn't really so sincere about writing everyday. So if you see her, tell her to go write. She'll love you for doing that!
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rotis and tortillas

  1. Belinda O says:

    I love burritos…technically I think they’re Mexican food, or perhaps another Latin American country can claim them, but we Americans have claimed them as we do so many meals!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

