Addiction

I have been wondering whether or not I should blog about it. Coincidentally, just now I read this post which describes exactly what I have been experiencing for the last one week and thought, maybe I should put it forth. So, last Friday I discovered The Beauty and the Beast. It is a four-season TV series that I have been watching on Amazon Prime. And well, what can I say – I am hooked. And I thought I was over fantasy and superhuman/supernatural boyfriends (Twilight, Twilight!). In my defense, Jay Ryan is super hot and he’s pulling of that beast role too damn well.

I have been so hooked into the series that it is all I want to watch is that. Every waking minute I want to watch that. I have been stealing my sleep-time, work time, book time, everything to watch that. Talking on phone seems like too much work, making myself food seems like too much work, working seems like too much work. Seriously, I feel like a sixteen year old who just found the love of her life.

On the other hand, I am having crazy guilt trips for doing nothing else but this – so I took some time out to go through the WordPress reader. I just started following a couple of new blogs. Interestingly, the start of 2017 has been lovely for me. I got two back-to-back reader appreciations on this blog for couple of my old short stories.

After Bound by Life, I really wanted to take a break and write some non-fiction. But now that How I tamed the dragon named fear is almost ready to go out in the world, I think I want some fiction back in my life. ‘Cause let’s face it – I am a sucker for stories. That’s another reason why I fall in love so hopelessly with these TV series.

Oh, and lastly, I am still looking out for volunteers for the new series of guest posts I will run through January on this blog. If you’d like to participate, let me know.

Until later!

About Arpita

Arpita Pramanick is a little, young woman with a bright face (who'd rather not look directly into a stranger's eye) you'll find walking on the corridors of Mu Sigma, Inc. She tells herself she wants to be a properly published writer (by which she means she wants to be published from the likes of Penguin), but isn't really so sincere about writing everyday. So if you see her, tell her to go write. She'll love you for doing that!
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Addiction

  1. Trudy says:

    You just sound burnt out and that’s normal. You need time to recharge.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Arpita says:

      Curiously, I wasn’t exactly burnt out this past week. I didn’t have much work at office and had a lot of free time in hand. I think that kind of triggered the craving – I was trying to fill up the empty space.

      Btw, long time! Happy New Year to you – I hope the holidays were great!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Trudy says:

        Happy new year. The holidays were nothing special. I wish I had empty space to just watch television for a while. Burnt out doesn’t necessarily mean overworked, could be emotional or if you are an introvert just from being around lots of people where you are forced to interact. It’s draining for that personality.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. mterrazas32 says:

    It great that realize you were hook, but hey that okay. Everyone get hook on a tv-show they can’t stop watching or think about.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Haven’t we all had ‘that one series that sucks you in like a blackhole’? In my case it was the Turkish series Calikusu and then Outlander. But I tell you what, sometimes inspiration comes to you from such series. Greatness inspires greatness in others. So dont feel guilty. Indulge yourself sometimes 😀😀😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Idle Muser says:

    A great noble move to share it Arpita. You never know which writing of your might help someone around. 🙂
    And it’s great to hear that you moved over those days. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

