Bound by Life: 7 month update

Those of you who have been following me regularly on this blog know about Bound by Life. Almost seven months ago (June 20,2015) I self-published this ebook through Amazon. I clearly remember the  long hours that I spent in front of the laptop since the end of March, trying to come up with stories that I could include in the anthology.

Once the book was published, I kept checking the Sales Dashboard (which stores the count of sales and payments) time and again. Every single activity on the dashboard made my heart leap with joy! I remember, an acquaintance of a friend had bought the first copy on the very day the book was released. It was such a exhilarating experience to have something that I created actually earn money. To be very honest, I did not at all expect the book to sell even one copy.

At the end of seven months (June 20-December 20), here’s what the sales figures look like:Sales Amount

Besides the actual sales, the book has also generated revenue in terms of KENP, which is nothing but Kindle Edition Normalized Pages. Here are the total pages read statistics:

kenp

Bound by Life consists of 189 KENP. In total, 2257 KENP of Bound by Life has been read till December 20, 2015. Roughly speaking, it signifies that the book had been read 12 times during this period.

In terms of money, I have received Rs. 856 from Amazon so far (payments received for sales until October, 2015). It is approximately equivalent to 13 USD. Not much, huh? I agree. But I like to think of it in terms of the reach the book has received. Considering the free and paid units sold and KENP read approximation, the book has been read by 82 people, which for me is a lot! Also, I am pretty glad to see that more and more people are reading the book through Kindle Unlimited/KOLL, which results in the increasing KENP read. The book will always be there in the digital domain. I hope in the coming days, it will be read many more times.

One thing that bugs me, though, is the lack of reviews. Until 19th December, 2015, there were only 5 reviews of the book on Amazon. All the reviewers have given it 5 stars. On Goodreads, however, the book has received a single 2 star rating and no reviews. The 2 star rating did hurt when I saw it, but I did not let it get to my head. I know there were lots of scope for improvement with respect to writing style, grammar and editing in that book. Also, not everyone has the same taste in books, so it is quite obvious that the ratings would vary.

It upsets me that although more than fifty people have read it, only five of them have actually reviewed. I’d truly appreciate more  reviews. If you’ve read Bound by Life end to end, please leave a review on Amazon. Trust me, I don’t mind if you say that you hated the book all through and give it a one star rating. All I want you to do is share your opinion. I want to know what you liked about the book, which things pissed you off, which stories are your favourites and why. Your feedback will help me grow as a writer. Also, it will help future buyers and readers of the book to get an idea as to what they can expect in the book. So, do take some time out to help this new author and fellow readers. Until next time, keep reading and writing!

About Arpita

Arpita Pramanick is a little, young woman with a bright face (who'd rather not look directly into a stranger's eye) you'll find walking on the corridors of Mu Sigma, Inc. She tells herself she wants to be a properly published writer (by which she means she wants to be published from the likes of Penguin), but isn't really so sincere about writing everyday. So if you see her, tell her to go write. She'll love you for doing that!
This entry was posted in Book Promotion, General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Bound by Life: 7 month update

  1. ganeshkum says:

    Hi arpitha.
    I read some of your stories today and would be completeting the remaining by tomorrow. I must tell you i loved all of them. The one i liked was the story about Ena and Mother plight. Mother’s plight really touched me. I hope your mummy is fine now and you are not feeling alone. Ena’s story was really heartbreaking . Please let me know why Ena couldnot do better in life. She was always a topper right. .

    Liked by 1 person

    • Arpita says:

      Hi Ganesh,
      Thank you so much for reaching out. Mother’s Plight was inspired by my mother, but it is mostly fiction. My mother, of course, is fine. Thank you for asking, though.

      As for Ena, well, in the period that has been captured in the story, she might have seemed as sad, but that does not mean that she did not do well in life. Maybe, she will be happy in future. Also, this is a little out of context, but I’ll still say this: just so someone was topper in school/college does not mean that they’d end up doing well in life. Bad things can happen to anyone. That’s life, I guess.What I’d like you to take away from this is more of Ena’s lover’s pain and Ena’s headstrong attitude. I hope that answers your query. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Uday says:

    This is interesting info for an aspiring writer like myself. Never heard of KNEP before! I think I’ll check out your book once I’m done with my current commitments. Added it to my goodreads list 🙂
    And the thing about readers not reviewing, it’s a real issue. I know an author who gave out about 250 early-reader copies of his book and got like 10-15 reviews!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Arpita says:

      Yes! I know, it’s a huge problem. I hope this post will result in some reviews.

      Also, I look forward to your thoughts when you do read the book. 🙂 Thanks for dropping by.

      Like

  3. ganeshkum says:

    I always take train while going from yeshwantpur to electronics city. I missed my stop coz of ur article.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. anankhan98 says:

    I’ll be sure to put up a review once I read it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

