Throwback 2016

December, as I have mentioned in a previous post, is among the favorite times of the year for me. That is not just because of the gardens that fill with colors, the sun which is a welcome sight and the smell of the Christmas cake – it is also the time of the year when I actually take time out and review the entire year.

As a kid, I was a fan of the ‘Firey Dekha 20xx’ (Looking back at 20xx) bulletins in the news channels – where they used to summarize the most important events that happened in the country and across the world in that year.

Following suit, today I bring to you a list of posts which I published in this blog in 2016. These are not necessarily the posts which got the most number of likes/comments, but rather which I had fun writing. Hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoyed reading the old posts to collate this list:

  1. Measured Leap: Published on January 13, 2016. I was walking to office that day when suddenly a squirrel trying to jump from a tree to a wall caught my attention. Short take on how measured leaps are can save you from a broken neck.
  2. How feminist is Gone Girl?:  Published on January 24, 2016. Though I realize the content did not really do justice to the title – but I like how I drew parallels from the story and real life.
  3. What a year of blogging taught me…: Published on March 18, 2016. Written as part of blog-anniversary, it contains some gyaan for  aspiring bloggers.
  4. The Imperfect: Published on March 22, 2016. I am sure you would have ruined a book by staining it while eating at some point in your life. I am sure you would have felt guilty about doing it. But have you considered writing a story about it?
  5. Banished Princess: Published on April 22, 2016. I have not published many works of fiction on the blog this year. This post is one of the very few.
  6. How revisiting your old writings can help you grow as an author?: Published on May 2, 2016. Just as you discover the people around you as time passes, so do you discover the characters you have created in your stories when you look back at them after a period of time. You would be amazed at how the character for whom you had empathy might inspire a certain hatred as you understand more of his/her motivation after a space of time.
  7. Visiting home: Published on November 6, 2016. A warm post written on my brother’s laptop, when I went to Kolkata last month. Brought back memories from the trip. Plus, the post has a few cool pictures of the clouds I took from the plane.
About Arpita

Arpita Pramanick is a little, young woman with a bright face (who'd rather not look directly into a stranger's eye) you'll find walking on the corridors of Mu Sigma, Inc. She tells herself she wants to be a properly published writer (by which she means she wants to be published from the likes of Penguin), but isn't really so sincere about writing everyday. So if you see her, tell her to go write. She'll love you for doing that!
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

